FAMILY-OWNED AND OPERATED SINCE 1912

Patricia Ann O'Donnell Buckalew

Patricia Ann O’Donnell Buckalew, 84, passed away from complications of dementia on Saturday, December 23, 2017.

Patricia was born in Wilmington, DE, to Daniel Patrick O’Donnell and Hannah Mae Connell. She graduated St. Elizabeth’s high school, and married Herbert C. Buckalew in 1954. Pat worked many years at Beneficial Bank, while taking time off to have five children, then worked at St. Elizabeth’s School, followed by her job in the legal department at DuPont. She finally achieved her goal of going to college, earning a B.S. in Accounting.

Pat had a great sense of humor, and enjoyed hosting parties. She was supremely practical, worked hard and had high standards for herself as well as her children.

Pat loved doing taxes and balancing checkbooks for all of us, and worked at H&R Block part-time. Her faith was essential to who she was, as were her family and friends, especially the “Club.”

Pat was pre-deceased by her parents, her sister Kathleen Nimberger, and brother Daniel “Jerry” O’Donnell. She is survived by her husband, Herbert Buckalew, her children Kathleen Buckalew (Marilyn Talman, dec’d.), Diane Norvell (Joseph), Daniel Buckalew (Loretta), Janet Buckalew, and Patricia Bradley (David); ten grandchildren (who knew her as Me-Mom): Alaina, Jason, Elijah and Brianna Norvell, Caitlin and Erin Buckalew, Jake Buckalew, Ryan and Sean Bradley, and Kim Keane (Peter); and three great-grandchildren: Kenzie Norvell, and Lilly and Casie Keane. Her brother John “Jack” O’Donnell, and numerous cousins, nieces and nephews also survive her.

A viewing will be held on Thursday, December 28, from 6-8 pm, at Mealey’s Funeral Home, 2509 Limestone Road, Wilmington, DE 19808. A funeral mass will be held at St. Elizabeth’s Church on Clayton Road, on Friday, December 29, 2017 at 11 am. Internment will follow at All Saints Cemetery on Kirkwood Highway.

In lieu of flowers, the family suggests donations be made in the name of Patricia Buckalew to the Alzheimer’s Association at alzfdn.org, or checks can be sent to the local office at 240 N. James St., Suite 100A, Newport, DE 19804.

Comments

Submitted by Eubanks family on
Condolences: 
Today, I learned that your family is mourning the loss of your beloved Patricia. Please accept my condolences and be assured that almighty God is certainly aware of your painful feelings. May God comfort and sustain you to get through this day and others to come (Isa 41:13). Wishing your family all the best at this most difficult period.

Submitted by Margo Simmons on
Condolences: 
Please accept my sincere condolences for your recent loss. My heart goes out to you and your family. I have always received comfort from the Bibles’ word at Philippians 4:7 which reads “and the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your heart and your mental powers by means of Christ Jesus”. I hope you can receive comfort from these words as well. Margo Simmons

Submitted by Monica Bostic-B... on
Condolences: 
Dear Patty, Dave, and the Buckalew family....our thoughts and prayers are with all of you in the passing of your Mom....We will always remember her spunk and wit during family gatherings....May you continue to find peace and comfort in your many years of memories.....God has brought home another angel to be by his side...Love, Monica, Jim, & Ava Bradley

Submitted by Evelyn Chandlee Heal on
Condolences: 
I learned of Pat’s passing while attending the funeral mass for my Aunt, Gerry Kowalewski. I am truly sorry for your loss. It seems that the “Club Girls” are simply relocating to a better place and one day will all be together again. Heaven has no idea what antics await! My deepest sympathies to all of you. I am keeping all of you in my thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

Submitted by Linda Schupp on
Condolences: 
Janet, so sorry to hear of your mother’s passing. She sounds like she was an amazing person. Please remember all the good, fun times. No doubt you will miss her. Love, Linda

Submitted by Jill Hammons on
Condolences: 
So sorry to hear of Pat's passing. I worked with her at H&R Block helping with the bookkeeping. Pat always had a smile on her face and a little glint of orneriness in her eye! You are in my prayers.

Submitted by Mil Mealey on
Condolences: 
I am so sorry to learn of Pat's passing. Although it has been many many years since I knew her, I can never remember seeing her without a smile. She was a St E's girl I looked up to in my years there. I know she will be missed by her family but she must have been a joy to have with you.

Submitted by Adrien Tournereau on
Condolences: 
Replica FERRARI watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-ferrari-watches/ Replica ARMANI Watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-armani-watches/ Replica Dior Copy Watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-dior-copy-watches/ Replica CORUM Knockoff Watches Online Store http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-corum-knockoff-watches-online-store-59/ Replica Chopard Knockoff Watches outlet http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-chopard-knockoff-watches-outlet-89/ Replica CK Knock off watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/11-replica-ck-knock-off-watches-39/ Replica Burberry Copyed watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-burberry-copyed-watches-39/ Replica Breguet Copy Watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-breguet-copy-watches-59/ Replica Technomarine watches Outlet Sale http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-technomarine/ Replica Richard Mille watches Sale http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-richard-mille/ Replcia Porsche Design watches Sale http://www.allwatchbands.net/replcia-porsche-design/ Replica Police watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-police-watches/ Replica Oris watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-oris/ Replica Nubeo Watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-nubeo-watches/ Replica Movado watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-movado/ Replica jaeger-lecoultre watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-jaeger-lecoultre/ Replica Jacob Co Watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-jacob-co/ Replica Hysek watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-hysek/ Replica Harry Winston watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-harry-winston/ Replica CK watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-ck-watches/ Replica Burberry Watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-burberry-watches/ Replica zenith copy watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-zenith/ Replica versace copy watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-versace/ Replica tudor watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-tudor/ Replica tonino lamborghini copy watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-tonino-lamborghini/ Replica Tissot knockoff watches http://www.allwatchbands.net/replica-tissot/

Submitted by mariposa canella on
Condolences: 
Although, I do not know your family personally , I can sympathize with your sorrow and lost ! I want to share with you the peace and comfort of Gods Promise found in your copy of the Holy Bible. A promise of a happy reunion soon with our dead loved ones , right here on a Paradise Earth! I have lovingly provided below a link that will direct you to this comforting Promise, found in your copy of the Holy Bible . https://www.jw.org/en/publications/books/dead-live-again-tract/dead-live-again/#?

Submitted by Y. Holland on
Condolences: 
"My deepest Sympathy go to the O'Donnell, Buckalew family, may your memories of your loss loved one comfort you and your family today and always, please take comfort in God's word at 2 Corinthians 1:3 "Praised be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of tender mercies and the God of all comfort". jw.org